2012 Makeup Favorites

FAVORITES

 

Every year since Han and I started Beauty Forum, I’ve looked forward to this post. Last year it was in video form on my Youtube Beauty Channel (RIP). Since I quit my videos, I knew a post was obligatory. Top 12 of 2012 just sounds better than Top 45 of 2012. Literally, my list of favorites was a mile long, but I’ve condensed myself to 16 individual items, but 12 products. (You’ll see what I mean.) Just another tid bit — there is no mascara on this list because I change my mascara constantly and didn’t find myself repurchasing just one and I did try to stick to almost all regular line products except for a few limited edition that were musts. You’ll see some repeats from my everyday makeup as well.

Face

FACE.jpg

Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation– This was my stand out foundation of the year and also one of the priciest items on the list. I’m obsessed with it. It’s a medium to full coverage cream foundation. If you’re looking for something with heavy oil free coverage that will last you a long time, this is it! ($43)

MAC Studio Finish SPF35 Concealer– The best concealer I used all year and also one of my Handbag Heroes, so I won’t go into much detail, but it’s great at covering blemishes and redness! ($18)

NARS Joie de Vivre Cheek Palette– I promised there wouldn’t be too many limited edition items, but this was a stand out and HAD to be included. I got this during the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale and it quickly sold out unfortunately. It’s great for travel because it has four blushes (Orgasm, Luster, Angelika, Gaiety), a bronzer (Laguna), and a highlighter (Albatross). NARS blushes and bronzer are my favorites around, so I highly recommend checking any of those colors out because they’re all universal and wonderful quality.

Eyes

EYES.jpg


theBalm Schwing Liquid Eyeliner– I’m so picky about my liquid eyeliner, but this one is a great matte black that’s long lasting, but not hard to get off at night. It dries quick and is the first liquid liner that doesn’t flake off and isn’t a pain to apply. ($17)

MAC Eyeshadows in Quarry & Saddle– Here’s one place where I cheated. Two MAC eyeshadows that have been my absolute go to’s. They’re both easy matte colors that look awesome on brown eyes. I usually sweep Quarry (soft muted plum brown) across my lid and then follow it up with Saddle (golden orange brown) in my crease or vice versa. ($15)

Urban Decay NAKED2 Palette– It’s hard to believe that this palette has only been out a year because I’ve been using it like crazy alternating with my regular NAKED palette all year. This one has more mattes and more taupe/grey type shades. It gives you a nice variety to create any look you want. ($50)

Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 Hour Eyeshadow in Bad to the Bronze– Another one that I can’t believe has only been out a year. While I have all of these amazing cream shadow shades (literally), there is one standout — Bad to the Bronze. It’s an amazing taupey bronzy perfection that can be worn under shadows or by itself and still look so done on your eyes. It’s a drugstore must have! ($4.99)

MAC Paint Pot in Groundwork– I love MAC Paint Pots and I think this one has to be my favorite for everyday all year long because it’s a neutral satin taupe (surprise, surprise). I use it quite frequently under any eyeshadows because I know it will keep them in place all day and it’s a great base. ($18.50)

Lips

LIPS.jpg

YSL Volupte Sheer Candy Glossy Balm in 05 Mouthwatering Berry– Oh hi go to lip color of the year! This was featured in my Berry Beautiful Lips post and it’s absolutely gorgeous. I use it daily and it’s easy to just sweep on while keeping my lips hydrated and pigmented for a long time. It’s amazing — pricey, but worth it. ($30)

Revlon Lip Butters in Pink Truffle, Candy Apple, & Peach Parfait– This was the year of the glossy pigmented almost lip stick, partially balm type products. Again, while I have them in a lot of shades — these three are my favorite. I used Pink Truffle for a quick everyday lip, Candy Apple for special occasions (my 21st birthday!)/an amazing red lip, and Peach Parfait was my summer favorite. They’re inexpensive and come in a variety of shades. ($6.49)

Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm– These are my favorite lip balms because they’re tinted and each smell uniquely wonderful. I love them and for the price, you might as well buy them all and keep one or two in your purse, desk, wallet etc. They’re also pretty moisturizing for a cutesy lip balm! ($2.99)

MAC Lipstick in Party Parrot– While Mouthwatering Berry was my go to lip color, MAC Party Parrot (a sadly limited edition lipstick that is again sold out on MAC’s website) was me in a lipstick. It was another special occasion color that quickly become a signature for me. It’s a bright red pink that is just to die for. Check your local MAC stores because it was recently repromoted and you might be able to get your hands on it!

Well, that was a lot of products. Please share your 2012 makeup favorites with me too because who knows, they could become 2013 favorites!

xx – Dan

 

3 thoughts on “2012 Makeup Favorites

Leave a Reply

