Rent the Runway for the Holidays!

If you’re like me, you have a love/hate relationship with shopping for outfits for the Winter Holidays. You love getting to bust out all of the sparkles, the glitter, the tweed, the red, but you hate hate hate spending a lot of money on something you may wear to one party and never touch again. It’s a travesty actually. I heard about Rent the Runway a few years ago when it was first getting started. I loved the idea. Since then, it’s BLOWN up! In a nutshell, you register on this website and you start browsing DESIGNER dresses that retail for hundreds to thousands of dollars that you can “rent” for a few days for $30 – . You can search in categories for different events: formals, parties, birthdays, wedding festivities etc. You fall in love with a dress, you choose your size (+ a backup size free just in case), choose the date you want it to arrive (usually 1-2 days prior to the event), and when you’re done simply put the dress back in the envelope provided (no labels, printing, downloading of any sort)! It’s literally that simple. They even guarantee the dress will fit or else they will ship you something new overnight!

This year is my first official company Christmas party! This means I’m in the big leagues of full time jobs now! haha. I really want to wow my coworkers with something really special, but honestly I buy dresses and they get worn ONCE because as stupid as it is, if I’m photographed in it I feel like I can’t wear it again. I’m weird,whatever. I headed to RTR to start searching. I wanted to stay under $75, so I found a few I loved and hearted them to go look at all my favorites in one place! You can read reviews and see pictures other people uploaded of themselves in the dresses, which is really cool! Here are my picks:

Erin by Erin Fetherston Celeb Status Dress  ($375 retail;$70 rental)

Rebecca Taylor Blue Smoke Tiered Dress  ($395 retail;$50 rental)

Nicole Miller Pink Champagne Party Dress ($385 retail;$75 rental)

Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent Metallic Mesmerizer Dress ($300 retail;$50 rental)

Badgley Mischka Fifth Avenue Showstopper Dress ($395 retail;$75 rental)

Nicole Miller Party in the Back Dress ($410 retail;$50 rental)

Nicole Miller Sequin Mochafied Dress ($420 retail;$75 rental)

ZSpoke Zac Posen Houndstooth Halter Dress ($350 retail;$50 rental)

Also, right now RTR is offering $25 off your first dress rental which is seriously phenomenal!! I’m still trying to pick the winning dress for the office Christmas party! Any opinions? :)

xx – Dan

Leave a Reply

