Tarina Tarantino Emerald Pretty Eyeshadow Palette Review

If you haven’t heard, the wonderful cosmetics brand, Tarina Tarantino, is being discontinued from Sephora. While this is the bad news, there is good news: all of her products are up to 40% off. I decided to take advantage of this because while I had her great things about her, I had never taken the opportunity to pick up any. Temptalia is always raving about her shadows and blushes, so when I saw this gorgeous green packaging with 6 beautiful shadows, I was immediately drawn to it. The Emerald Pretty Eyeshadow Palette is six buttery and highly pigmented shadows inspired by none other than the Emerald City of The Wizard of Oz. 

The packaging is so pretty and was the first thing that drew me in. The palette comes in the same color box as the actual palette and was super hard to photograph because it was so shiny. The actual palette is on the smaller side. Here it is compared to the Urban Decay NAKED palette:

Length wise, it’s shorter than the NAKED, but it is definitely wider. It’s still travel appropriate in my opinion. It won’t be too bulky because it’s not very thick. It’s that nicer heavy duty cardboard which gives a better cushion for the shadows if you’re prone to dropping your palettes.

The inside is very Emerald City. It has a lot of wasted space around the edges because the shadows are concentrated towards the middle, but it doesn’t bother me. There is also a good sized mirror on the inside of the lid which is also great for travel or on the go purposes.

These colors are unlike any I have in my collection to be honest. They are very unique and inspired solely by The Wizard of Oz which I thought was adorable. The names are downright precious. But there’s nothing worse than something with a cute name and the product just sucks. Thankfully these shadows seriously exceeded all of my expectations and might be one of my favorite eyeshadow formulas ever. They were all so incredibly pigmented and buttery. I was so impressed. The colors are very true to what they are in the pan as well which I love. There’s even a great pigmented matte shade (Saw Dust Heart) which was completely unexpected.

Glinda’s Kiss – iridescent white

Silver Shoes – pearlized charcoal gray/silver

Dandy Lion – rich olive green with gold sheen

Saw Dust Heart – burgundy chocolately matte brown

Ozma – metallic blue teal

Very Wicked – murky emerald green

These shades were all easily swatched in one swipe and were so smooth. They applied even better on the eye than in the swatch if that’s even imaginable. They were rich and not chalky and I didn’t experience any fallout or blending issues. They can even be used wet or dry. The top swatches are dry and the bottom swatches are wet! I love that. They wore beautifully with and without a primer without any signs of creasing after my 9 hour day. I also adore the versality of the colors. They’re all amazing stand alone shades, but there are so many combinations together. I’m a matte girl, so I’m really partial to Saw Dust Heart. I think it’s a gorgeous crease color and it’s also great for a softer smokey eye. Like I said earlier, I don’t have any dupes of these shades in my collection and I think if you’re a collector these are shades you NEED to have. Here’s the amazing price breakdown: this palette was originally $36, it’s now marked down to $22!!! Each shadow is .09 oz!!!!!!! (Urban Decay’s NAKED palettes and MAC Shadows are .05 oz for comparison) That’s absolutely insane value wise. That is about $3.66 per shadow, but with the size of the shadows (almost double MAC & Urban Decay) you’re getting SO much more for your money.

I think buying the Emerald Pretty Eyeshadow Palette is an absolute no brainer especially if you’re a makeup hoarder like I am. But even if you’re not and you’re just looking to maybe expand your eyeshadow routine, these super unique colors are amazing quality and they’re so versatile in creating daytime and night time looks. I’d snatch it up fast because Tarina Tarantino is only going to be sold until the end of the year and who knows how long this palette will stay in stock for!!

xx – Dan

One thought on “Tarina Tarantino Emerald Pretty Eyeshadow Palette Review

Leave a Reply

