Everyday Makeup Routine

If you’re anything like me, you go to bed at night and think okay, tomorrow I’ll get up early so I can actually do my makeup and that day never comes. I will spend max 10 minutes on my makeup when I’m headed to work because quite frankly I always try to sleep in a little longer and really if you have a solid routine it shouldn’t take very long. It’s all about finding products that work and that you can use and get the polished result you’re looking for. I don’t think that an everyday routine should be a rut, it’s just what works and looks best for you in the shortest amount of time.

Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation – Easily one of the best foundations I’ve ever used. It looks flawless and covers all of my redness, acne, and scarring without any concealer. I apply it with the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush which blends like a dream with it’s soft, but dense bristles. It’s a life changing must have for liquid or cream foundation!!

MAC Studio Fix Powder – I use a big fluffy powder brush and set my foundation. I review it in full here. Then I take that big fluffy brush and do the 3 down each side of my face with my NARS Bronzing Powder in Laguna for some color which I reviewed in a different Handbag Heroes here. Recently I’ve been using MAC Marilyn Monroe Powder Blush in The Perfect Cheek on a blush brush on the apples of my cheeks. Unfortunately it’s no longer available, but I also switch it up with NARS Orgasm or NARS Gaiety

I tend to keep my eyes very simple and basic during the day for work because I like to sometimes do a pop of color on my lips. I prime my lids with Maybelline Eyestudio Color Tattoo in Barely Beige – it’s a limited edition shade that is shimmery nude similar to MAC Bare Study Paint Pot. I’m still very much addicted to my Urban Decay NAKED Palette. (Currently has free shipping on Sephora because it was an an Allure Best of Beauty 2012) For work, I use Naked all over the lid and Buck in the crease. I tightline (line my upper waterline) with MAC Eye Kohl in Smolder and line my upper lash line with my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE LIQUID EYELINER: theBalm Schwing Matte Liquid Eyeliner. (Not pictured) It’s the blackest black, it’s matte, and it doesn’t move seriously even when I curl my lashes there’s no gap like with any other liners. I curl my lashes and use my newest fave mascara that holds the curl, lengthens, and looks amazing all day: Maybelline Volum’Express the Colossal Cat Eyes. It’s seriously one of the best mascaras I’ve used and is a must try if you see it on a new display!

All of that takes me all of about 10 minutes in the morning and I look put together, polished, and work appropriate. It’s an amazing everyday look for anyone who’s short on time or just wants something easy!

xx – Dan

Leave a Reply

