Sweating Glitter: Running

I quickly realized that I have more to say than can fit in one fitness routine post, so I wanted to make it a cute little blog series called: Sweating Glitter. Let’s face it, that quote above accurately describes me. I’ve had so so many questions about my workout/gym routine ever since my first fitness post about my essentials! I wanted to start with the easiest and most inexpensive way to get in shape and ease your body into working out: running.

Running is one of my favorite things to do, but it’s easily most people’s least favorite. There is a reason why most get turned off by it. It’s usually because they go into it too much too soon. When I first started I wanted to just jump right into it and my body fought back. It’s natural for the body to not feel great after it the first few times, but if you push too hard your body will rebel and you’ll never want to do it. That’s why I super recommend a regimen to keep you on track. The one I use and swear by: The Couch-to-5K Running Plan. There’s lots of these out there, this is just the one I use because it has a phone app too!  It’s so easy to do — 30 minutes a day/3 days a week/ 9 weeks to a 5K.

There’s lots of things you can do to alter it to fit your needs — you can run for time or distance and you can run on a treadmill or outside. I think when you’re just getting started running for time is better for your schedule and it helps you stay motivated because you’re not as concerned with how far you’re running just yet.

This is the first week of the Couch to 5K and you can see how easy it is to ease your way into it. I’m not a doctor (so if you have any conditions or anything, I’d consult with one before you start any routine), but it’s no secret that running has so many great benefits for you:

  • Burning fat and toning your body
  • Improve your health
  • Relieve stress
  • Preventing disease and bone loss

I highly recommend if you want to start working out, you start running! You’re going to fall in love with it and thank me later when you’re more confident, healthy, and happy! :)

xx – Dan

3 thoughts on “Sweating Glitter: Running

  1. Cook even more vegetarian dinners. A minimum of
    one occasion seven days cook a dinner which often facilities close to
    espresso beans, dried beans, or another beans and not just animal
    meat. Get ready meatless dishes that have vegetables and fruits and then grain
    for example veggie soup by way of brown lightly rice.

Leave a Reply

